What is your opinion on “money can’t buy happiness”?

afyie

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Oct 15, 2020
Messages
112
Reaction score
56
This dialogue can suit very rich people and not anyone. The rest of us need money to become a little happier.
yes, i agree on this too i believe till we are healthy money is the key for any happiness.
 

jaydeb99

Regular Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2021
Messages
277
Reaction score
166
I think it depends on our definition of “happiness” and I would argue that money does buy happiness if you spend it on the right things. For example, money buys me time to do all of the things I want to do with my family, and that makes me very happy.
 

Kontala

Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
33
Reaction score
38
Usually I hear that sentence from people who financially struggle.

But think, when you're poor, it's very resaonable to think this:

"everything that is good in life is free".

And that includes your energy and time to make money.

That way you won't attach your status to the amount of money in your bank account and you won't cry how little you have of that when you're poor.

So thanks to beliefs like that, you can be happy as a poor person, then you can conclude you don't need money to be happy.

But it will be so exhausting to maintain your happiness levels when you'll be running from a lion.

This saying and the belief behind it is a double edged sword. It can both keep you poor, but also disattached from the idea your money equals your status. And your status is something your brain is tracking all the time. So if you have little money and are attached to the idea money is super important, you believe your status is really bad and you feel bad. So this is a defense mechanism, but it's wise to not get stuck in it.

So I think a little bit healthier dialogue is that:

1. Money is not important at all, it's just numbers and many game the system.
2. I make money and work becuase I enjoy it.
3. No matter how much money I have, I am the same person.

I just want to say.. I've never seen an unhappy person on a jetski. But we must not forget the fact that money is dirty, so it is a bit scary
Bro, lions would you eat alive. Money is really clean when you compare it to brutality of the world, survival and what we had 1000s of years ago.

I don't have rich people in my family. Whole life work 8 hours / day, mostly physical in copper mines, factories, transportation and they are "experienced", telling me that money not gives happiness.
Spending 8 hours in those copper mines, factories and trucks certainly gives happiness with the awareness you're nothing to your boss and he's milking you.

On my end it's that everyone who works in those places knows they're fcked. At least people around me are a little bit more realistic.

There has been numerous studies in this field. Empirical data has shown that once you reach the global average of $5k monthly income (I repeat global average, somewhere it's more somewhere it's less) your level of happiness wont grow if your monthly income grows. So, the short answer is yes, until a certain point. After that, it can even backfire on your if you don't control money but money start controlling you and you go in a limbo where you continuously try to compensate for lack of happiness with material goods.
https://www.youtube.com/shorts/Le4cYzZA2hU
Of course, money can't buy happiness. It can be the cause of your sorrow and sandess and it can ruin your life. Search for lottery winners stories and you will hear some horrors. So, like any resource, it depends on how you use it.

However, poverty is a certain cause of sorrow and depression. So, it's not about being wealthy, it's more about avoiding poverty.

In simple words, not all people who have money are happy, but All people who don't have enough to eat, wear and have a shelter aren't happy.
Big money is a numbers game. You do it for reasons different than indifinitely stuffing your mouth and driving expensive cars.

You do it cause you're an entrepreneur. You're like a video games player, but in real life.

You shouldn't attach yourself to certain sums of money as you should invest, not spend big sums of money.

Build a better community with it, help someone, think of your kids. Do something useful with it.

You need to find some purpose in big money. Playing the game of big money to satisfy your guts is abusive, in my opinion. I would name it like "green crack".
 
Last edited:

Lipstick Spoiler

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Aug 10, 2022
Messages
526
Reaction score
417
Money isn't equal to happiness, but it can get you out of financial issues and allow you to do things such as travel the world rather than working 8-10+ hours a day just to go home, sleep, and repeat, or living paycheck to paycheck or sleeping on the streets.
I didn't ask you to rot in a hole with no money. I simply said, more money isn't always equal to more happiness. Not for everyone, happiness is equivalent to traveling around the world. For some people, it is the peace of mind which is of utmost importance. I do get your point regarding coming out of financial issues, but I did mention that after a bare minimum, you can lead a successful life just like a person with tons of money.
 

Kontala

Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
33
Reaction score
38
I love money but....

Is money equivalent to happiness???

I don't think this is true. For everyone, happiness means something else. If you love materialistic things, then money is surely for you.

What about the monks who live in mountains and preach daily? Are they not happy??

They are happier than us. It's not always about the money that gives you happiness. There's still a lot in the life.


For me, happiness is materialistic. But you can't generalize the statement saying that the quote is an excuse for people who aren't earning.

Some people have moved ahead of this thinking and earning enough to do the bare minimum and still happy.
Sorry if I break your idea of happy, financially broke people, but monks are religious people and they take your money to build their monastery.

Monks are living much better than a lot of people in the hoods and ghettos - these are trully poor people. Monks are just pretending. They're religious liars.

Oh, they also don't pay freaking taxes. Their lives must be so hard.

Do you know how easy it is to sit all day, live off society merciful donations and do nothing pretending you're doing the hardest thing in the world? Super easy.

And no freaking kids to take care of. Silence 90% of the time. No need to work too much.

They have their own set of beleifs they stuffed their heads for years and are legal outcasts who don't respect any rule of society.

Beggars who have respect. But why question that? They're so innocent in those orange suits.
 
Last edited:

bossofthebosses

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Feb 7, 2015
Messages
2,060
Reaction score
984
Once, my chair was broken and I didn't have the money to buy a new chair, so I prayed to God for a new chair. But God taught me an important lesson instead of giving a new chair (well I was able to buy a new chair later though with the mercy of God, but not right at that time): The lesson at that time was: After I prayed, I was able to fix the broken chair without any spending, with only using the materials/tools I had that time in home. So, if there's mercy of God, it is possible to meet your REAL needs with whatever is around you, you just have to try to improve yourself and you'll find happiness.
 

M0805

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 6, 2021
Messages
684
Reaction score
376
Let's be honest money can't buy you happiness but can buy you freedom.
Freedom = Happiness
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2022
Messages
54
Reaction score
15
I believe that money cannot buy true, lasting happiness. While money can certainly provide comforts and security, it cannot replace the joy that comes from meaningful relationships and experiences. Money may be able to buy moments of pleasure, but it cannot purchase satisfaction or contentment.
 

Lipstick Spoiler

Jr. VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Aug 10, 2022
Messages
526
Reaction score
417
Sorry if I break your idea of happy, financially broke people, but monks are religious people and they take your money to build their monastery.

Monks are living much better than a lot of people in the hoods and ghettos - these are trully poor people. Monks are just pretending. They're religious liars.

Oh, they also don't pay freaking taxes. Their lives must be so hard.

Do you know how easy it is to sit all day, live off society merciful donations and do nothing pretending you're doing the hardest thing in the world? Super easy.

And no freaking kids to take care of. Silence 90% of the time. No need to work too much.

They have their own set of beleifs they stuffed their heads for years and are legal outcasts who don't respect any rule of society.

Beggars who have respect. But why question that? They're so innocent in those orange suits.
sorry, don't agree. Why are you generalizing all the monks? Not all monks are the way you have described. Probably, you have dealt with some monks of this type, but I don't agree with what you've said above.
Also, a monk was just an example of leading a happy and healthy life without getting into too many intricacies of money and fame.
There are several other people who live a happy life without having a shit ton of money.
The point being made above is whether a load of money can buy you happiness or not.
 

Kontala

Newbie
Joined
May 25, 2022
Messages
33
Reaction score
38
sorry, don't agree. Why are you generalizing all the monks? Not all monks are the way you have described. Probably, you have dealt with some monks of this type, but I don't agree with what you've said above.
Also, a monk was just an example of leading a happy and healthy life without getting into too many intricacies of money and fame.
There are several other people who live a happy life without having a shit ton of money.
The point being made above is whether a load of money can buy you happiness or not.
Because this is the definition of a monk?
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bhikkhu
Maybe you have your own idea of that made up in your mind, or just brainwashed by religion.

Why am I talking about this?

Why not discuss foolishness and educate other people? Less of that is better for society.

And monks are not useful to society. There's a reason there are only few of them - nobody wants to be so useless as they are.

They're going against the human nature. It's so absurd.

Monk is in other words a loser who doesn't even try to not be one. They just skip all the values and create their own system called religion.

Sure, religion helps when you're poor. But that sounds like cheating to me. I'm not talking cheating the system. I'm talking about cheating the society and yourself.

It helps like this statement "money can’t buy happiness" in the headline.

Wow! Things are connecting now! We can hack our value systems. What a great way to live!

Let's do nothing for 15 hours, stay calm and talk how happy we are about the fact we have to beg other working people for food.

Monk is not someone happy. They're calm because of their value system. And in their value system calmness = hapiness. In society happiness is not about calmness.

They're stealing from society. Did I already mention that? I guess yes. But you believe they're some goooood people. Some groups of this kind call themselves "saint", then they're revealed as pedos.

...

Whether you want to realize it or not, you will have to when shit hits the fan.
 
Last edited:

dreamscrape911

Registered Member
Joined
May 10, 2018
Messages
58
Reaction score
18
In my opinion, money = freedom.

Freedom to do what you want.
Freedom to travel where you want

to eat/drink what you want
wear
drive
help others
take care of your health

And I could list many more, those just came in my mind yet.
 

deroty

Registered Member
Joined
Oct 4, 2022
Messages
56
Reaction score
35
Money helps happiness. However human brain is very sensitive. If you are in depression you will forget about money and feel very depressed.
 

Dexpier

Newbie
Joined
Dec 1, 2022
Messages
5
Reaction score
27
Money is everything in this world and it fixes a lot of problems! without having enough money you are nothing but a loser talking nonsense!
 

Scorpion Ghost

Jr. Executive VIP
Jr. VIP
Joined
Mar 22, 2013
Messages
7,799
Reaction score
8,906
Website
smmorigins.com
Depends on the person i guess.

Maybe it cant buy happiness, but money can buy almost everything else.

Ive been broke and ive been not broke. Not broke is better.

Im laying on a nice big mattress, inhaling oxygen filtered through my air purifier, eating Greek pistaccios like there's no tomorrow.

Maybe im not happy happy, but life is good. And Only money will get you that salty comfy pure goodness :D
 
Top